Written by Daylight

by John Howard


Written by Daylight | 9780956658784 | John Howard

In stock




“I’m already dead, and I’m a dead man speaking, and that’s why they can’t hear.” ? Joseph Roth

Sunsets in a London suburb, and a transformation into an Earthly paradise; paths winding through a Transylvanian palace gardens, and an obsessed journey towards a Mediterranean dream; a city so ancient that even its total disappearance has been forgotten, and an island of shifting sands that can never be truly mapped . . . The vivid and diverse settings of these stories are fa?ades obscuring reality for the exiles and outcasts who find their way into them. Seemingly born out of time and place, they seek the right routes to bring them to where they want to be, but there are many diversions on the way. In these stories of haunted landscapes and intimidating cities many possibilities confront the unwary, but there is usually only one choice to be made.

“Where Once I Did My Love Beguile”
Silver on Green
Winter’s Traces
Out to Sea
Time and the City
The Way of the Sun
The High Places
Wandering Paths
A Gift for the Emperor
Into an Empire

John Howard was born in London. His stories have been published in several anthologies and the books The Silver Voices, The Defeat of Grief, and Numbered as Sand or the Stars. With Mark Valentine he contributed to their joint collection Secret Europe, and collaborated with him on several stories in The Collected Connoisseur. Howard has also published articles on many aspects of fantastic fiction, especially the work of Fritz Leiber, Arthur Machen, and August Derleth.

Additional information

Weight 0.00 kg