Three European Poets

by Paul Durcan


Three European Poets | 9781910820186 | Paul Durcan

Out of stock



Published:01/11/2017 by University College Dublin Pres


Three European Poets is part of UCD Press’s The Poet’s Chair series, publishing the public lectures of the Ireland Professors of Poetry. The Ireland Chair of Poetry was established in 1998 following the award of the Nobel Prize of Literature to Seamus Heaney and is supported by Queen’s University Belfast, Trinity College Dublin, University College Dublin, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland and the Arts Counci 1/An Chomhairle Ealaion. Other poets in the series include John Montague, Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Michael Longley, Harry Clifton and Paula Meehan. In his volume of The Poet’s Chair Paul Durcan examines the work and impact of Irish poets Anthony Cronin, Michael Hartnett and Harry Clifton and places them in a European context. He focuses on Cronin’s The End of the Modern World, Hartnett’s Sibelius in Silence and Clifton’s Vaucluse in this insightful volume.