The Elemental Detectives

10.95

The Elemental Detectives | 9780702315626 | Patrice Lawrence

In stock

ISBN:9780702315626

Format:Paperback / softback

Published:01/09/2022 by Scholastic

Description

A stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure
for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal
Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice
Lawrence.
“A beautifully written book, bristling with magic, set
in an ancient London filled with dragons, ghosts, water spirits,
and a mysterious, creeping sleeping-sickness that must be fought
by the brave young heroes. I loved it.” Cressida Cowell, Children’s
Laureate & author of How to Train Your Dragon

Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits:
the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the
earthbound Magogs.

But humans have been causing chaos for centuries, trampling through
the landscape trailing noise, mess and pollution. What if the
Elements could slow down this new world… or stop it all together?

The revenge-fuelled Shepherdess, who moves between the everyday
and the supernatural London worlds, is the perfect weapon.
She brings a sleeping sickness down on the city with
the destruction of society in her sights.

Marisee and Robert are the Elemental Detectives chasing the clues
to avoid catastrophe: they must face the ghosts of Hyde Park,
the monstrous coiled snake of the Serpentine, and a whole host of
other fantastical creatures in their mission to
stop the Shepherdess and prevent London slumbering for all eternity…

Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation.

A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface – this book
is set to ignite young imaginations.

The page-turning, empowering, heart-racing first book in a major
new series.

MORE PRIASE FOR ELEMENTAL DETECTIVES

“I loved reading about a re-imagining of London with so much invention
and energy. The world-building is well…out of this world.
Patrice Lawrence is amongst the greatest voices for young people
writing today. I’m honoured to be a peer of hers.” –
Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors

“BRILLIANT… history and fantasy woven magnificently into a thrilling,
magical adventure” – Sophie Anderson, author of
The House with the Chicken Legs

“A fantastic adventure, packed with rich world building and stunning
elemental magic.” – Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart

“Wow – The Elemental Detectives is a cracking fantasy. Clever,
inventive, and pacy, with wonderfully drawn characters and a breathless
plot. I want to read more!” – Bali Rai, author of
Mohinder’s War

“The Elemental Detectives is a rip roaring magical adventure…
Patrice Lawrence has done a marvellous job of building an imaginative
and creative mythology which lurks just under the city streets.”
Catherine Johnson, author of Freedom

“The Elemental Detectives is a richly imagined, inventive and
immersive fantasy adventure.” – L. Norry,
author of Son of the Circus

Additional information

Weight 0.00 kg