The Country of Others

11.95

The Country of Others | 9780571361632 | Leila Slimani

In stock

ISBN:9780571361632

Format:Paperback / softback

Published:19/05/2022 by Faber & Faber

Description

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times
‘Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie
‘Powerful.’ Christine Mangan
‘Captivating.’ Elle

From the internationally bestselling author of Lullaby, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrell.

1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.

But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.

As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.

Additional information

Weight 0.00 kg