She’s In CTRL: How women can take back tech – to communicate, investigate, problem-solve, broker deals and protect themselves in a digital world

22.95

She’s In CTRL: How women can take back tech – to communicate, investigate, problem-solve, broker deals and protect themselves in a digital world | 9781787635029 | Anne-Marie Imafidon

In stock

ISBN:9781787635029

Format:Hardback

Published:08/09/2022 by Transworld Publishers Ltd

Description

‘A practical and positive guide to using tech to change women’s lives for the better’ –
Caroline Criado Perez, author of Invisible Women: exposing data bias in a world designed for men

‘A powerful and inspiring call to action from one of Britain’s brightest minds – She’s In Ctrl asks all the right questions about women in tech and Imafidon sets about providing practical, long overdue solutions .’- Yomi Adegoke, award-winning journalist, author of Slay in Your Lane etc.

An inspirational exploration of why women are under-represented in tech, why it matters, and what we can do about it. Perfect for readers of Invisible Women.

The tech world might feel beyond reach, particularly if you’re a woman. With increasingly frank admission women are woefully under-represented in tech – roughly a mere quarter of the UK STEM workforce – the dangerous fact is clear our technology is the product of a series of big decisions made by a small number of people, mainly men. Our lives have gone digital, but our technology risks being tailored to a section of society whose lived experience may be far from our own.

In She’s In CTRL, computer scientist Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon, a dynamic advocate for women in STEM, calls time on women being cut out of the tech story. Technology is not an unchangeable force, nor the preserve of the elite, she argues. It is in our homes and in our hands. In her powerful book about women, tech and daring to dream, Dr Imafidon shows we have more agency than we think, drawing on her own experience and the stories of other pioneers and innovators who have, against the odds, transformed technology.

The world needs more women in tech and, in her inspiring narrative, Dr Imafidon shows not only why this is but how we can all play our part in ensuring a future that’s evenly distributed.

Additional information

Weight 0.00 kg