Behan Complete Plays

by Brendan Behan


Behan Complete Plays | 9780413387806 | Brendan Behan

In stock


Format:Paperback / softback

Published:10/08/1978 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC


This volume contains everything Brendan Behan wrote in dramatic form in English Contains the three famous full-length plays: The Quare Fellow, set in an Irish prison (“In Brendan Behan’s tremendous new play language is out on a spree, ribald, dauntless and spoiling for a fight …with superb dramatic tact, the tragedy is concealed beneath layer after layer of rough comedy” Observer); The Hostage, set in a Dublin lodging-house of doubtful repute where a young English soldier is being kept prisoner, “shouts, sings, thunders and stamps with life…a masterpiece” (The Times); and Richard’s Cork Leg, set in a graveyard, “a joyous celebration of life” (Guardian). The volume also contains three one-act plays, originally written for radio and all intensely autobiographical, Moving Out, A Garden Party and The Big House.